Viceroys of India


Viceroys of India

Viceroys of India

Viceroys of India

Viceroys of India

Lord Canning(1858-1862): With the transfer of power to the British Crown, Lord Canning became the first Viceroy of India in the year 1858. In order to make the administration more effective in India, he rearranged the whole administrative system. During his tenure Indian Council Act 1861 was passed. 

Lord Rippon (1880-1884): He was appointed in the year 1880. He was quite soft towards Indian People. Moreover, he organized the government on a democratic line. He was responsible for acts like the Vernacular Press Act and Factory Act to protect the town labourer.

Viceroys of India

Lord Curzon (1899-1905): The main event of his time in the first partition of Bengal in 1905. He was responsible for the Punjab Alienation Act and the Indian Universities Act where he officialized the universities. In order to improve the relationship between the North-Western Frontier Tribe and Afganistan, he adopted the new North-West Frontier Policy. 

Lord Mintu (1905-1910): He was appointed in 1905. The Morely-Minto Act of 1909 was during his tenure. The act conceded separate electorates to the Muslims in the legislature. 

Lord Hardings (1910-19916): During his tenure, the capital was transferred from Calcutta to Delhi. Moreover, the partition of Bengal was revoked. 

Lord Jemesford (1916-1921): He was responsible for events like the Government of India Act 1919, Rowlatt Act and Martial Law. The Non-Cooperation Movement was launched by Mahatma Gandhi. The Tragedy of Jalianwala Bagh 1919 was also a chief event of his time. 

Lord Irwin (1926-1931): The main events during his tenure were: resolution for complete Independence in 1929. Simon Commission visited India which was boycotted by the Indians; the launch of Civil Disobedience Movement Movement; the historic Dandhi March of Gandhi; the Round Table Conference 1930 at London and the Gandhi-Irwin Pact of 1931.

Viceroys of India

Lord Willington (1931-1936): The Second Round Table Conference of 1931 was one of the main events of his tenure. The other main events are the Communal Award of 1932; the signing of Poora Pact; passing of the Government of India Act 1935. Moreover, the Third Round Table Conference in 1932 was also held. 

Lord Linlithgow  (1936-1944): During the tenure of Linlithgow the Government of India Act, 1935 was enforced in the year, 1937. Then the Crips Mission Plan and of India and the Quit India Movement were the other main events. 

Lord Wavell (1944-1947): During his tenure, World War-II ended. The Cabinet Mission Plan and Wavell Plan were also the chief events of his time. 

Lord Mountbatten(1947-1947): He was the last Viceroy of India and he recommended the partition of India. During his tenure, India got its independence by passing the Independence Act, 1947, and India was divided into two dominions of India and Pakistan.  0 0 0

Viceroys of India

You May Like:

  1. Important Battles in Indian History
  2. Some Timeline of Indian History

Some Important Books for Students:

  1. Advertisement Writing
  2. Amplification Writing
  3. Note Making
  4. Paragraph Writing
  5. Notice Writing
  6. Passage Comprehension
  7. The Art of Poster Writing
  8. The Art of Letter Writing
  9. Report Writing
  10. Story Writing
  11. Substance Writing
  12. School Essays Part-I
  13. School Essays Part-II
  14. School English Grammar Part-I
  15. School English Grammar Part-II..

Related Search:

  1. 10 Famous Indian Authors
  2. Indian News Agencies
  3. Press Trust of India
Previous articleEvents During National Movement of India
Next articleReforms During British Rule in India


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here