Nationalised Banks of India


Nationalised Banks of India

Nationalised Banks of India

Nationalised Banks of India

On July 19, 19699 Some commercial banks, especially 14, whose reserves were more than Rs.50 crore each, were nationalized in order to have more control over the banks. The nationalized banks were:  

1. The Central Bank of India

2. Bank of India 

3. Punjab National Bank 

4. Canara Bank 

5. United Commercial Bank

6. Syndicate Bank 

7. Bank of Baroda 

8. United Bank of India. 

9. Union Bank of India 

10. Dena Bank 

11. Allahabad Bank 

12. Bank of Maharashtra   

13. Indian Overseas Bank

14. Bank of Maharashtra

Nationalised Banks of India 

April 15, 1980: The following 6 private sector banks whose reserves were more than Rs.200 crore were nationalized. Their banks are-

1. Andhra Bank 

2. Punjab and Sindh Bank 

3. New Bank of India 

4. Vijaya Bank 

5. Corporation Bank

6. Oriental Bank of commerce

Nationalised Banks of India 

Note: In September 1993: The New Bank of India was merged with the Punjab National Bank. 

Note: These nationalized banks, together with regional Rural Banks (RRBs), come under the category of Public sector Commercial Banks. The other kinds of commercial banks are Private sector, Commercial Banks. At present, there are 20 nationalized banks, besides the RBI. 0 0 0

Nationalised Banks of India

You May Like:

  1. Historical Forts in India
  2. First in Awards and Titles From India

Related Search:

  1. List of Nationalised Banks in India
  2. List of Major Financial Institutions of India
  3. World Currency Symbols
Previous articleMajor Financial Institutions of India
Next articleState Bank of India | SBI


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here