Some Timeline of Indian History


Some Timeline of Indian History

Some Timeline of Indian History

Some Timeline of Indian History

Some Timeline of Indian History

Year (B.C.) —— Event

599 –– Birth of Lord Mahavir. 

527 –– Lord Mahavira attained Nirvana

313 –– Accession of Chandragupta Maurya on the throne. 

261 –– Conquest of Kalinga Ashoka. 

232 –– Accession of Ashoka. 

58 –– Beginning of Vikrami Calendar Era.

Some Timeline of Indian History

Year (A.D.)Event

78 –– Beginning of the Saka Era. 

120 –– Accession of Kanishka. 

320 –– Beginning of Gupta Dynasty. 

606 –– Accession of Harshavardhan. 

629 –– Hien-Tsang visited India during the reign of Harshavardhan. 

1001 –– First invasion of India by Mahmud of Ghazni. 

1206 –– Accession of Qutub-ud-din Aibek to the throne of Delhi. 

1236 –– Accession of Razia Sultana to the thronee of Delhi. 

1296 –– Accession of Ala-ud-din Khilji. 

1325 –– Accession of Mohammad-bin-Tughlaq. 

1336 –– Vijaynagar Empire founded in South India. 

1449 –– Birth of Sankardev. 

1469 –– Birth of Guru Nanak. 

1498 –– Discovery of the sea route to India by Vasco-da-Gama 

1509 –– Accession of Krishnadeva Rai. 

1526 –– First Battle of Panipat. 

1556 –– Second Battle of Panipat. 

1600 –– East India Company was set up. 

1605 –– Death of Akbar. 

1627 –– Birth of Shivaji

Some Timeline of Indian History

1628 –– Sgahjahan became emperor. 

1666 –– Birth of Guru Gobind Singh. 

1674 –– Shivaji titled as Chatrapati. 

1707 –– Death of Aurangzeb. 

1708 –– Death of Guru Gobind Singh. 

1757 –– Battle of Plassey. 

1761 –– Third Battle of Panipat. 

1764 –– Battle of Baxur. 

1770 –– The great Bengal famine. 

1780 –– Birth of Maharaja Ranjit Singh. 

1784 –– Pitt’s India Act passed. 

1853 –– First Railway line opened in India from Bombay to Thane. 

1857 –– Indian War of Independence (Sepoy Mutiny)

1869 –– Birth of Mahatma Gandhi at Porbandar. 

1885 –– Indian National Congress formed 

1889 –– Birth of Jawaharlal Nehru. 

1905 –– First partition of Bengal. 

1911 –– Delhi became the capital of India. 

1914 –– World War I- started. 

1918 –– World War I ended. 

1919 –– Jallianwala Bagh Massacre at Amritsar. 

1920 –– Khilafat Movement. 

1930 –– Dandi March.

Some Timeline of Indian History 

1931 –– Gandhi-Irwin Pact 

1932 –– Third Round Table Conference. 

1939 –– World War- II started. 

1942 –– Quit India Movement started. 

1943 –– Indian National Army formed. 

1945 –– World War -II ended. 

1947 –– India got independence. 

1948 –– Assassination of Mahatma Gandhi. 

1950 –– India became Republic. 

1951 –– First Five Year Plan launched. 

1952 –– First General Election to Lok Sabha. 

1953 –– Mt. Everest was conquered by Tenzing Norgay and Sir Edmund Hillary. 

1954 –– Panchsheel Agreement signed between India and China. 

1956 –– Re-organisation of the Indian State on a Linguistic basis. 

1957 –– Second General Election. 

1961 –– Liberation of Goa from Portuguese. 

1964 –– Death of Pandit Nehru; Lal Bahadur Shastri became Prime Minister. 

1965 –– Indo-Pak War

1966 –– Indira Gandhi became Prime Minister of India. 

1972 –– Assam reorganised; Meghalaya and Tripura became full-fledged States and 2 Union Territories, Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram inaugurated. 

1974 –– India became the 6th nuclear power by exploding a nuclear device at Pokhran in Rajasthan. 

1975 –– Sikkim joined India as 22nd State. 

1976 –– 42nd Constitution Amendment Act passed. 

1978 –– Formation of Congress (I)

Some Timeline of Indian History

1979 –– Launching of Bhaskara. 

1980 –– Launching of satellite Rohini 1; Launching of Sixth Five-Year Plan; Congress (I) returned to power. 

1982 –– Indian expedition to Antarctica. 

1984 –– Rajiv Gandhi Became the Prime Minister. 

1985 –– Launching of 7th Five Year Plan. 

1987 –– Creation of Goa as 25th State. 

1989 –– National Front Govt. at the Centre. 

1991 –– Devaluation of the Indian Rupee and new Economic Policy introduced. 

1992 –– Commencement of 8th Five Year Plan. 

1993 –– Indo-Russian Friendship Treaty renewed. 

1994 –– Launching of PSLV. 

1995 –– New Credit Policy. 

1996 –– United Front govt. at the Centre. 

1997 –– launching of Ninth Five-Year Plan.

Some Timeline of Indian History 

1998 –– India became a nuclear power by successfully conducting 5 tests including 1 thermonuclear test (Hydrogen-Bomb) at Pokhran (Rajasthan).  

1999 –– Operation Vijayy successfully in flushing out Pakistani infiltrators from the Kargil sector of  Kashmir, NDA Government under Vajpayee at Centre.   

2000 –– launching of INSAT-3B; Creation on three new states Uttttarkhand, Chhattishgarh and Jharkhand;  Golden Jubilee celebrations of Indian Republic. 

2001 –– National Year of Empowerment of Women.

2002 –– Launching of the first of the four 50-seater ATR 42 aircraft to link the capitals of all the seven northeastern states.

2003 –– India’s first Cyber Grameen Centre brought remote rural areas into the information technology fold. 

2004 –– Manmohan Singh became the Prime Minister. 

Some Timeline of Indian History

2005 –– India launched its most powerful and advanced telecommunication satellite INSAT-4A. 

2006 –– India entered into a historic Nuclear Pact with the USA. 

2007 –– Smt. Pratibha Patil became the first woman President of India; India wins the inaugural ICC World Twenty 20 Competition.   

2008 –– Abhinav Bindra became the first Indian to win an individual gold medal in the Olympics in Beijing. 

2009 –– The 15th General Elections were held and Dr Manmohan Singh was re-appointed as Prime Minister of India. Smt. Meira Kumari became the first female Speaker of Lok Sabha. 

2010 –– President of the US Barack Obama paid his maiden visit to India. 2010 Commonwealth Games were successfully held in New Delhi, India; S.H. Kadapia became the new Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of India. 

2011 –– Lokpal Bill was introduced in the Parliament for debate to bring an effective anti-corruption law into force; India won the 2011 ICC World Cup Cricket tournament; India lost many of its legendary figures like Dr Bhupen Hazarika, Indira Goswami, Deev Anand, Jagjit Singh, M.F. Hussain, M.A.K. Pataudi etc. 

Some Timeline of Indian History

2012 –– 4th BRICS Summit was held in New Delhi; India successfully test-fires 5000 km range  Agni-V ICBM; Ace cricketer Sachin Tendulkar and Queen of Bollywood Rekha was nominated in Rajya Shabha; Pranab Mukherjee was elected as 13th President of India; India won 2 silver and 4 bronze medals in London Olympics, Narendra Modi becomes the third consecutive Chief Minister of Gujarat; India lost some of her famous figures Yash Chopra, Rajesh Khanna, Verghese Kurien, Jaspal Bhatti, Dara Singh, Vilasrao Deshmukh etc. 

2014–– The Hindu Nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party and its candidate for Prime Minister, Narendra Modi win the Parliamentary election defeating Congress. 0 0 0

Some Timeline of Indian History

You May Like:

  1. Leading News Agencies in India

Some Important Books for Students:

  1. Advertisement Writing
  2. Amplification Writing
  3. Note Making
  4. Paragraph Writing
  5. Notice Writing
  6. Passage Comprehension
  7. The Art of Poster Writing
  8. The Art of Letter Writing
  9. Report Writing
  10. Story Writing
  11. Substance Writing
  12. School Essays Part-I
  13. School Essays Part-II
  14. School English Grammar Part-I
  15. School English Grammar Part-II..

Related Search:

  1. 10 Famous Indian Authors
  2. Indian News Agencies
  3. Press Trust of India
Previous articleSome Dynasties of India
Next articleSome Rulers in India



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here